Early Years


Welcome to Torkington Primary School. We are so glad that you have chosen us to begin your educational journey. We are very excited to meet you all, but until then please use this area to explore and learn as much as you can about your new school. In this section we have added some information about us, some activities to help you prepare for starting school and also a booklet that you can fill in all about you. 

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old and it is taught in our Nursery and Reception classes.

The EYFS Framework explains how and what children need to learn to support healthy development. In EYFS learning is by playing and exploring, by being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outdoors.

Children learn skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through seven areas of learning and development. In general children should develop the three prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language

  • Physical development

  • Personal, social and emotional development

The prime areas are those most essential for a child’s healthy development and future learning.
As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas.
These are:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design

These seven areas are used to plan a child’s learning and provision activities. All teaching and learning is child initiated and decided by the children themselves. The EYFS curriculum is very flexible so that staff can follow each child's unique needs and interests. Objective led planning is used in both Reception and Nursery to ensure learning is personalised for all the children in our setting. Ultimately the children are working towards achieving the Early Learning Goals by the end of the Reception class.